Salsa Tilapia

I love seafood. Fish, lobster, scallops and crabs all so yummy! I have always liked seafood from my first visit to Red Lobster with my grandparents when I couldn’t have been more than 6 years old to fresh caught seafood at this great little place my dad took my brother and I called at Johnny’s Reef in City Island, Bronx (WONDERFUL outdoor eatery – definitely a perfect summer trip and around the Bronx Zoo!)

This tilapia recipe comes from my boyfriend who introduced this tasty combination to me while on a camping trip over the summer. I was a little apprehensive at first but I love salsa and tilapia is one of my favorite fish so I was a bit curious as to how it would turn out. I was pleasantly surprised. I changed it up a little tiny bit and trust

Ingredients

  • 4 frozen tilapia filets thawed to room temperature
  • 1 large yellow onion
  • 1/2 cup Tostitos Restaurant Style Salsa (Mild, Medium or Hot, whichever you prefer) (1/2 should be a good amount to place on a good amount on each of the tilapia filets but you can use more (I do)
  • 4 tablespoons of Earth Balance Natural Buttery Spread (1 tablespoon per filet)
  • a pinch of salt
  • a pinch of black pepper
  • sprinkle of crushed red pepper
  1. Preheat oven to 350° F
  2. Place filets on a flat baking pan that has been covered in aluminum foil.
  3. Sprinkle tilapia with salt, black pepper and crushed red pepper. Cut the onion into small cubes and cover tilapia.
  4. Place 1 tablespoon of Earth Balance Natural Buttery Spread underneath filets
  5. Spoon salsa on top of filets. Be careful not to touch the filets with the spoon or else you will cross contaminate your salsa
  6. Bake in the oven until the filets are nice and flakey (and the edges are slightly browned) and the onions are slightly browned.
  7. Serve with a side of Tostitos Scoops Tortilla Chips and some more salsa and ENJOY!

I am so glad my boyfriend convinced me to try this recipe and you should try it too!

😀

Leave a Reply

